Some History for Today

I’m watching this right now, at 8:53 p.m. on Sunday before MLK day. If I had History Channel, I’m sure this would be on. But its not. I think this may be more about the assassination than the message – it’s the first time I’m watching it. Let’s hope my guess towards it’s quality doesn’t later bite me.

Watch

Post-script: It was indeed about the assassination and the plot that led up to it. The documentary’s focus wasn’t about King views or stands, but somehow captured a more real position for the man – and I don’t mean the King-as-fallible books and plays that have become popular lately where he tries to fuck a maid the night before his assassination (this is a real play based on real reporting). For example, seeing a powerful, young Jesse Jackson summarize MLKs death as the assassination of the best friend of the white man.

Leave a Reply

