Orwellian Traffic Camera Wet Dream?

I dunno. Maybe…

I’ve gotten caught by Fletcher and B.B. Downs camera system. Are there even other intesection camera traps in Tampa?  Twenty more traps seems like a lot and I don’t appreciate that there isn’t a list, yet.  Don’t get me wrong. Tampa has perfected the art of unselfconsciously running red lights. It’s a problem and a safety risk.

However, the problem stems from a systemic traffic mega-virus.  Tampa’s traffic is awful and let’s couple that with the recent rejection of public transit and a light rail system.  There’s constantly construction to correct for this glut of traffic.  However, widening roads reaches a peak point and lane-widening beyond that point bears no fruit, no further bounty towards alleviating traffic.  Not to mention, Tampa’s rife with bottlenecks.  Want to get to the exurbs for the working elite, frightened out of the dinge and pawn shop ghettos of consolidated Tampa? Chances are you’re making the commute from Wesley Chapel or Lutz and taking either Veterans (the only main artery to Lutz) or the I-275/I-75 junction (the only artery to W.C.). 

Otherwise, you’re on the B.B. Downs from Tampa Palms/Hunter’s Green or the Cross Creek offshoot (the three forming a mega-community of white middle class commuters).  And other visible problems abound outside my immediate scope, I can only write about what I know; where I live.

In any case, you’re at a standstill.  A ten mile commute takes 35 minutes on a good day, a twenty mile commute takes an hour on an average day.  Depending where you work there’s either no easy way to get there without hitting a dozen lights.  Or there’s no lights on your commute and you hit the bend at I-275 just north of downtown and can only wish for death while you stop in the middle of a major US highway junction for ten, twenty minutes and steep with your fellow workers in the menagerie of Big City Hate that ruins any sense of community and robs you of your will to work or live and starts every working day with a powerful and crippling philosophical “why?”.

I’m painting a picture, people.  They’ve got us by the balls. Create the perfect system for forcing drivers into a spite-panic-rage that gives them illogical cause to run every red light that catches them, ALWAYS THEM, as the last in the line through the light and fuck-it, I’ve waited 5 minutes at this light and it’s just the second light on my marathon of stop lights before I can even get to where I go to clock-in, get paid, and leave to go home through the same hurdle-race of vehicular abuse.

And then they put up cameras to catch us, force us, to drive right. And it makes sense. That’s the worst. We know, every time, that we are udneniably wrong to run the lights. But still they keep the roads and lanes and whole traffic network broken and psychologically abusive and then ticket us $175 when our monkey brain revolts against the perpetual stop-go-stop-go-stop-go-stop-stop-wait-swelter-fume-rage and then break down. I’m realizing the inescapable marriage of adult-ness and inner deadness.  I think this is where it begins.

Source

Leave a Reply

